Here’s To You, Tewks

My older brother Taylor recently just packed up the basement into the back of his Jeep Laredo and embarked on his adventure to Colorado-and by the looks of his snapchat, I don’t think he is ever going to come back. And let’s be real…I wouldn’t either. Well, maybe if it was 50 degrees warmer and surrounded by water, then I wouldn’t come back. But either way, Taylor, I hope you’re having the time of your life out there, and I can’t wait to visit, although that may only happen in the summertime. Here’s to you, Tewks.

So, I’m dedicating this post to my older, wiser, cooler brother. Thanks for teaching me the ways of life over the years. Here’s a few reasons why I’ll miss you…taylor blog

1.Eating crabs; whether on our back deck or on a dock on the Chesapeake Bay. Taylor always showed me the best way how to do it; and laughed at me when I had no idea what I was doing.
2.Drinking rum and cokes at the bar in Turks and Caicos.
3.The weird-bluegrass-banjo-music that I hear blaring from the basement door everyday.
4.His friends…Although I only have ONE older brother, growing up, it sure as hell felt like I had about 15. I’ll miss the non-official brother visits I had.
5.The nights we got home at the same time and hung out in the basement.
6.The nights I got home before him and locked him out.
7.The nights he got home before me and locked me out.
8.Splitting grouper & conch in Turks and Caicos.
9.The times he told me I was an idiot and deserve better.
10.The times he stood up for me when assholes at school were making fun of me. “Only I can make fun of her…” I think is what he said.taylor blog 5

Growing up with Taylor as an older brother was…well…not always a walk in the park. I’m sure he would say that growing up with me as a younger sister was probably similar to hell. But the truth is, I didn’t leave him alone because deep down I thought he was the coolest person to walk this planet. All I wanted to do as a kid was hang out with him and his cool friends. Looking back, I guess I can’t blame a bunch of 9 year old boys for not wanting to hang out with a very shy and annoying 6 year old girl.

I remember when I was entering my freshman year at Dulaney High School, I thought I was the coolest because I had an awesome, older, senior-in-high-school brother. And since I knew all of Taylors friends, it was like I had 15 awesome, older, senior-in-high-school brothers. Taylor and I drove to school together every morning and I got to park in the SENIOR PARKING LOT…how cool, right? Looking back, it wasn’t that big of a deal, but because I thought Taylor was the bees knees, I thought it was.taylor blog 4

Don’t get me wrong, though, I still think Taylor is the bee’s knees. It’s pretty much impossible for me to go somewhere and not talk about how awesome I think my brother is. He’s just so damn smart; and he’s taught me so much about life over the years…like how it’s okay to not shower for a few days if you’re out listening to some good ass music, or how to take a shot of tequila like a champion at 12 am on your 22nd birthday.

The other thing about growing up with Taylor as an older brother is that EVERYONE KNOWS HIM. Not only that, EVERYONE LOVES HIM. It’s like I can’t go anywhere without getting “Dude, you’re tewks’ younger sister? He’s dope!!!” It’s almost as if he’s created this awesome reputation for the Tewksbury name and everyone who comes after him must be equally as cool. So, I thank you for that, Taylor.taylor blog 3

But, Taylor has also given me more than just a bar to live up to and some facts about the festival life. He’s someone I’ve looked up to for 19 years. He’s someone who will tell you exactly like it is when you need to hear it the most. When everyone else is sugarcoating things, he’ll tell you what you need to hear. He’s someone who cares for his friends and family. He’s someone who’s ALWAYS up for an adventure. He’s someone who loves to have fun. He’s someone who loves to do what he loves. He’s someone who will KICK ASS IN COLORADO doing whatever he chooses.

And most of all, he’s someone who is my friend. Although being annoying comes with the little sister territory (as with the older brother…), I know I can always call him my friend and someone who will be there for me, whether it’s 3 am or 1pm.

taylor blog 6I know you’re having A BLAST in Colorado (and following around The Grateful Dead), but I miss laughing with you and sharing music with you. I can’t wait to see you again, but until then, thanks for the parking spot in the garage :).

Leave a Reply

