I Got Everythin’ I Need

Happy Mothers Day to all of the beautiful mothers out there – but I got some bad news. I know the best mother of all time…and she’s all mine. Mom, I know you’ll probably be the first one to read this, so THANK YOU. I owe you all of my love and thanks today-and everyday. With a daughter like me, I’m pretty sure you’re allowed to have tmom blog 7hree mental breakdowns PER day…But for some reason, even after all I do (and don’t do), you still love me even more than the day before. And for that, I don’t think I can thank you enough. But heres hoping. I hope when you are feeling sad or down in the dumps you remember that I think you are the most beautiful, loving, and indestructible woman I have ever known. I hope you remember that all that I am today is because of you. I also hope that if you are feeling down, you can at least feel down…..way down there with your toes in the sand.mom blog 4 I need to thank you for letting me make my own decisions. Yea, you gave me your two cents, but I learned something very important. We see what we want to see when we want to see it.  And I am sure you wanted me to see some things way before I did, but I see them now. And what you said makes perfect sense. What you say normally makes sense…even if I realize it years later. So thank you for telling me what you think; but letting me realize things on my own. In the long run; I should listen to you. Always. You always seem to be right. Like when you say I shouldn’t eat that many m&ms, or I should kill pemom blog 9ople with kindness, or I should put more sunscreen on. But I’m telling you now that I probably will eat too many m&ms, I’ll forget to kill people with kindness, and I won’t put any sunscreen on. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love you. It just means I’ll be sunburnt. I also need to thank you for being my best friend. You always used to say that I used the word best friend too much. That everyone was my “best friend”, or I had a new “best friend” too often. But when I really think about it, you are the o nly person who could qualify as my BEST FRIEND for all of my 19 years. I can try to hide my feelings from you, but let’s be real, you can see right through me. It’s almost as you can see right inside to my heart. You’re the only person who is undoubtedly there for me, regardless if it’s 3 in the morning, regardless if you have a 102 fever, regardless if you’re with your friends. I could name any situation and you would drop everything to help me. If I was crying at 3 in the morning, you were right next to me. If I needed to go to the store, you were in the car right away. I’m not sure why, but you do, so thank you. But most of the time, my life doesn’t involve crying at 3am, unless maybe from laughter. Which brings me to my next point. You literally crack me up. Not a day goes by that we don’t share a good hard laughmom blog 2 together. I think laughter holds relationships together. After all, Jimmy Buffett did say “If we couldn’t laugh we’d all go insane.” So, thanks for keeping us sane, mom! I do want to thank you for EVERYTHING you’ve done for me, like giving up part of your life to take care of me and Taylor and driving us to sporting events and driving us to friends houses and letting me have slumber parties and buying us pizza and doing my hair (still do) and making me lunch and picking out my outfits and watching me play sports even though I sucked at every single one of them. I don’t know how you decided to give up your entire life just to listen to me scream “TAAAAYYYLORRRR” at the top of my lungs every single day, but you did…so again, thank you. But most of all, thank you for turning me into the person I am today. I strive to be more and more like you everyday. Your love for others, your kindness, and your heart. It’s beautiful. I know you make fun of me for being a “hippie”, but all that I am is because of you. You’ve taught me so much in this life. You’ve shown me that it’s okay to be vulnerable, you have to stick up for yourself, and to not care what others think. You’ve taught me to love others umom blog 6nconditionally and to never settle for a boy who doesn’t love me. Oh, you might’ve also taught me that it’s always 5:00 in Margaritaville. But that’s a story for another time.
I almost cannot believe that I am writing this as a 19 year old JUNIOR IN COLLEGE, and I’m sure you are wishing you read that wrong. But don’t worry, deep down inside I’m still that girl who put on “hey hey we’re the monkeys” and danced around in the new dress Dad got me for my birthday. So Happy Mothers Day mom, I am probably putting my hand in the ice machine at Snoasis right now, but I can’t wait to devour some crabs with ya soon.

Leave a Reply

