Be As You Are

P R O V O –

4 flights, 8 nights, 789 photos, 8 unbelievable sunsets, 23 miles, 192 hours under a blue sky, 10 outfits, 4 pieces of grouper, numerous cups of coffee, many new friends, countless memories, immeasurable emotions, and one amazing island I get to call home. turks blog camera

I feel so grateful every single day that I can not only visit the breath-taking islands of Turks and Caicos, but actually, truly, call them home…call it a second home, call it a home-away-from-home…but this little stretch of beach teaches me about life, love, friendship, myself, and adventure more and more each day.

The people you meet, the friends you make, the way you are. It’s all different down here. It’s slower, it’s easier, and it’s a beautiful thing to witness. Kenny Chesney talks about this all the time. It was one of those things that I didn’t really understand until I experienced myself. And after 5 years, I think I’ve figured it out. This is a place where I’ve truly learned that you can, to quote my favorite,  ‘be as you are.’turks blog palm

It doesn’t matter who you are, where you come from, where you’ve been, or what you do. All that matters is that you’ve made this choice to embark on this life on an island and you are ready to embrace every part of it.

This is a place where I have found an overwhelming sense of peace, a sense of solace, and a sense of freedom that I have never found before. It’s where I learned that sometimes, it’s okay to sit in the sand, watch the sun move across the sky, and not have a care in the world.

It’s also where I learned to enjoy life as it happens and see moments as they come. So many times in life all I want to do is plan plan and plan. So many times in life my mind seems as if its parked in the future; worrying about what is going to happen or what will come. But that is irrelevant; because every single person on this earth, the only thing we all have, is right now. It has taught me to truly soak up the HERE & NOW. Tomorrow doesn’t matter; it will come as it does. The only thing that does matter is right now, because I’ve got a sunset to chase and a pina colada to drink while I chase it. And Lord knows I don’t want to miss that.turks blog coconut

It’s about being at a place where you have the freedom to live high or live slow. Have the freedom to be wild and bold or be still and at peace. It’s where we learn that to “be as you are” is really quite simple; it’s about finding a place where you can combat  crazy, spontaneous, and silliness with patience, silence, and serenity. When you find that, this world is yours to write.

“Be as you are” is not only a song lyric to me, but a way of life. It’s the way that I live wturks blog palm treehen I’m down there. It’s the simplicity of embracing who you are and how that can affect the world around you. It’s about finding pure joy in simple moments that happen everyday. It’s about seeing the love that surrounds all of us. It’s about finding spontaneity in life and living for just TODAY, the here and now. Because at the end of the day, all I know that’s for sure, is who I am and the love that’s in my heart.

One thought on “Be As You Are

Leave a Reply

