Happy Birthday Jenna

10 and a half years ago, I was sitting by the pool at Springdale sporting a blue and white one piece bathing suit. When I looked across the pool, there was a girl wearing the same one. Unknowing to me at the time, that bathing suit would spark one of the best friendships I’ve ever had.   jenna birthday 1

That day was the first day of my 10 and half year friendship with Jenna. I don’t remember the exact details of it, but it doesn’t matter because the rest is history.

The world has thrown me and Jenna more curveballs than I could’ve ever imagined. We’ve withstood tragedy, heartbreak, and thousands andjenna birthday 18 thousands of miles. Whatever the world threw at us, we were strong and willing to face it. And when the world separated us, it was only physical. California to Maryland? Not a freakin’ problem!

I’m pretty sure we even “hated” each other for a few months and don’t even think I could tell you why. But when it came down to it, I had Jenna’s back and she had mine. Whether I needed a tanning partner, a third wheel, or a dinner date, she was there. Or someone to call me McNugget or Spaghetti Head.

I could go and on and on (and on…) about the amount of crazy, spontaneous, and really really stupid things that Jenna and I jenna birthday 6have done, but that would probably take me hours. Besides, everything Jenna and I have done has all been captured on camera. It’s out there somewhere. Anyone remember our trips to the Outer Banks when we were 15? Oh right…what happens at  OBX…stays at OBX!

jenna birthdayBut today, Jenna turns 20. I can remember our 12 year old selves sitting at my kitchen table drinking propel, eating chicken wings and talking about who we were going to be and what we wanted to do. I remember planning our perfect boyfriends, our perfect proms, and our perfect weddings. I can attest to the fact that my life has gone in probably the complete opposite direction of what we said that day; and I’m sure Jenna can too. But one thing is for certain: Jenna and I had every intent on remaining best friends.

 
When Jenna came to see me and my family last summer, my mother said something to me that made tears fill my eyes and gives me chills as I type it.

She said, “You know, Rob once told me that ‘no matter what, no matter how, no matter where, these girls will always come back and be best friends.

jenna birthday 12

And Mr. Rob, boy were you right. I could text Jenna after months without talking and ask her opinion on a boy or a sweater or a hairstyle. When we saw each for the first time after way too long, we still sat at my kitchen table and talked for hours while my mother made us dinner. The only thing that changed was the refridgerator that was normally stocked with Propel was now stocked with Heavy Seas.

And I hope that is making Mr. Rob smile really big up there, because there is nothing I’d want more. Well, maybe some of his Christmas Fred.

I  want to wish one of the most hilarious, loving, and generous people I know the happiest of birthdays today.

Happy birthday Jenna and I can’t wait for what life brings us next!

jenna birthday 5

jenna birthday 3

jenna birthday 15

Leave a Reply

