The 27 Things I’m Thankful For This Thanksgiving

I never thought this day would come-I am home in Baltimore for Thanksgiving. It’s the holidays! It’s also snowing…and well…U H G.

Anyway-I’m sure ya’ll have read all the articles out there about “The Things I’m Thankful For This Year” that talk about the essentials-family, friends, love. But my hope is that these are a bit different.  These are the 27 things I am thankful for this Thanksgiving.

  1. I am thankful for Uncle Jesse’s perfectly moused hair and olive skin.
  2. I am thankful for Netflix because if I want to binge watch New Girl for 5 hours on a Saturday, I can do that.
  3. I am thankful for the strange ways friends are made-whether it’s being paired as charade partners, sharing the same music taste, or playing beer pong across a pool. All three things happened.
  4. I am thankful that I wake up tired sometimes because it means I had a hell of a night.familia blog
  5. I am thankful for the way Luke Bryan shakes his butt on stage.
  6. I am thankful that my dad has agreed to be a “Born Again Rastafarian” with me. One love.
  7. I am thankful that when I don’t know how to roast broccoli- my mother is only a phone call away.
  8. I am thankful that I have an older, wiser brother who never fails to tell me when I’m being a dumbass.
  9. I am thankful for Rita Ora for ripping Zac Efron’s shirt off at the MTV Movie Awards. Enough said on that one.
  10. As much as I hate to admit it, I am thankful for Taylor Swift’s catchy lyrics that I can sing on my way to class.
  11. I am thankful for friends who laugh with me about the stupidest things, jah feel?
  12. I am thankful for my oceanography professor who teaches me new things every day.
  13. I am thankful for friends who tell me to text them when I get home
  14. I am thankful for all of the people who stand beside me as we fight for freedom for dolphins because I can’t do it alone.
  15. I am thankful for drunk texts I get from my friends at 2 a.m because it tells me they’re thinking about me.coffee thankfuk
  16. I am thankful for freshly brewed coffee, good books, and nice weather. Oh, and those shoes because they look awesome in pictures. Right, Kaz?
  17. I am thankful for the Christmas lights and bright colored canvases that make my room feel magical.
  18. I am thankful for soreness that makes it hard to go up stairs because it means I have been working hard.
  19. I am thankful for the big, oversized sweatshirt my best friend gave me that I wear when it’s too cold.
  20. I’m thankful that I’m able to block out negative energy and keep in the positive.
  21. I’m thankful for friends who don’t think my philosophy of good vibes & good energy is insane.
  22. I’m thankful for the opportunities to be spontaneous and feel alive.
  23. I am thankful for that feeling you get when you instantly start clicking with someone new.
  24. I am thankful for this great big world to explore.
  25. I am thankful for the opportunity to explore this great big world, and that I don’t have to stay stagnant forever.mackenzie thankful
  26. I am thankful that in a world of pain, struggle, and heartbreak, there is love in almost everything.
  27. I am thankful that I am who I am, and I have the freedom to decide who that is.
Leave a Reply

