Be A Nerd

I want to take time to explain something that’s been on my mind for the past   couple of weeks. It’s kind of complicated, but it boils down to one simple word : P A S S I O N: a strong and barely controllable emotion. I’m sure every one of us knows this feeling, at least to some extent. Maybe you feel it everyday; maybe you’ve only felt it once; or maybe, you’ve never felt it at all.marc jacobs But what I want to focus on is this idea of living your life with passion. Every single day. Maybe that’s hard, or maybe not. But you have to do it. The cliche fact of the matter is that life is short.  We’ve all heard that phrase thrown around when tragedy happens and a life was ended way to soon. It’s cliche, but boy is it true. So, we have to live everyday with passion, or our life is a waste. And everyone’s passion is different, but whatever you do in life, find it. Find it right now. And trust me, you’ll know when you do.

ocean mackenzie

At Morehead City for my birthday. SO happy.

I used to think that I just simply enjoyed the ocean. That I liked to sit on the beach with a good book and a pina colada and relax. But ever since I heard Jean Michael Cousteau talk at East Carolina, my life has taken a turn. It felt as if Cousteau was talking directly to me. The fact that our ocean and it’s marine life is being destroyed everyday just by OUR lifestyles makes my heart uneasy. The fact that today we have only explored 5% of the ocean makes me hungry to learn and to explore what the hell is down there. I’m not saying mermaids are real, but hey, I’m not saying they’re not. My point is this : the ocean means a whole lot more to me than just a spot to relax. The ocean is my passion. This is clear to me; because when I think about it, it excites my whole body. And to quote Oprah, “Passion is energy. Feel the power that comes from focusing on what excites you.” And I think that’s the point of life. Find something you’re passionate about and never let it go. Let it excite you. Let it take over your life.  You gotta be all in, or all out. There’s no in between.

photo-5

Me-my heart is filled with happiness.

There’s a Greek word I learned about the other day- “Meraki”. It means “to do something with soul, creativity, or love; to put something of yourself in your work.” Again, a key to life. Life is too damn short to not take the time to do what makes your heart surge with happiness. And your passion is not random; they are your passions for a reason. I’m sure none of us have ever really thought about different definitions for the word “nerd”. Most of us probably think about Steve Urkel, Eric and Craig from Drake and Josh, or that kid in your 10th grade english class that always had his damn hand raised. But, listen to this… A nerd is “one whose unbridled passion for something defines who they are as a person without fear of judgement.” I say we all take this a day at a time…and BE NERDS. Be a nerd for something. Whether it’s for children, for animals, for learning, for writing (like me), for reading, for people. Whatever it is, be a nernopassiond for it. Before I totally freak my parents out because they are going to think I want to change my major, I want to clarify that is not the case. Still a journalism major, mom and dad. But I’ve learned that you need to stay close to things that make you feel alive; and for me,  what does that is the ocean and writing. I have realized this; and I can’t explain to you how much happiness I’ve felt the past couple months. The ultimate goal? Exploring the ocean and writing about it. It’s scary; but hey, if your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough, right?

Leave a Reply

