What I’ve Learned During My First Month of Sophomore Year

Wow, I haven’t blogged in over a month. Sorry ya’ll. I wish I could say that it was because the move from Baltimore to Greenville was sad, or that the transition was too hard. But, it was almost the exact opposite. I couldn’t be happier to be at East Carolina University, and I can tell this year is going to be twice as spectacular as last year.
They say you learn a lot about yourself in college. It’s where you “find yourself.” Cliche or not, I do think it’s true. But I think you learn a whole lot more than that.
I’ve been trying to put this into words for a while now, so here goes nothin.

afterlight-2

My agenda last week.

1. Spontaneity is key.
I learned recently that I’m a planner. And I think this is something that a lot of us can relate to. As much as I don’t want to believe it, my life is whole heartedly organized around a plan. I plan out my meals, my homework, my walks to class. I plan out my days, my weekends. It’s hard for someone to find me not writing things down in my planner or scheduling something into my phone calendar. “Running @ 5. Shower @ 6:30. Dinner @ 7:15. Sleep @ 11.”
Now, that’s not to say that having a plan is a bad thing. Without planning things out, my life would be one big guess as to what I’m supposed to be doing at, say, 1:45 on a Tuesday.
But, who’s to say that THAT is a bad thing? I think the world has engraved this idea into our heads that everything needs to go as PLANNED in order for us to have happy lives. For example, if I planned on hanging out with a friend on a Friday night and they bail on me, my “planned” mind wants to be like “oh shit, well there goes my Friday night.” But it doesn’t have to be like that.
And thats where spontaneity comes in. Most people say that “life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” But i don’t think that’s completely right. I think life begins when you DON’T do what you planned to do. Life begins when you’re spontaneous. Life happens when you don’t plan. Life happens when you’re sitting in bed at 10:45, and at 10:50 you’re on your way to Sup Dogs to get a greasy hot dog or on your way to a friends apartment at 2 am because why the hell not?
I think we all need to take a break from our busy lives every once and a while and be crazy, be wild, be spontaneous. Shatter the idea that we are supposed to have our days “planned.” Wrong. Life wasn’t meant to be planned. Life was meant to be crazy.
It’s something I have to remind myself constantly. The gym will be there at 7:00 instead of 4:00. The library will be there the next day. It’s okay to be exhausted when I wake up for my 9am. At least I’m living.

#2. It’s the little things.
Back home at my job at Snoasis (if you don’t know what it is…look it up), us workers have these weird kind of, kinks, I guess. One time, I dropped a thin rectangular ice block in our dump bucket and it cracked completely evenly. My good friend Caroline then said “Ah, it’s the little things in life.”
And boy she hit it right on the head. Yeah, I love my job because I make money and it’s fun…but I love it more because of the little things like that.
And I think that is a crazy little metaphor about life. It’s easy to say you appreciate life because of the big things. Because of the love I feel, the relationships I have, or the fun things I do.
While I obviously appreciate those things, the little things deem more important. I apprphoto-4eciate life because of the extra cheery lady at Starbucks this morning even when I know she’d rather be at home.
I appreciate life because of the boy who held the door for me this morning even when I was a good 10 feet behind him.
I appreciate life because I actually get to poke holes in my apartment so I can hang up my posters.
I appreciate life because I have the opportunity to buy and wear my favorite dress.
I appreciate life because of the late night texts I get from people because it shows they were thinking about me.
Carlos Bertonatti once sang “If this life has taught me anything it’s that it’s all about the little things.”
And it is. It really is.

#3. Be in love with your life.

Too many times have I found people who live life “just going through the motions.” They go to a college they hate, they work a job they despise, they hang out with people they can’t stand. Why? What is the point? I think we should all make a pact to let go of anything that doesn’t make us happy. “Life is short” may be one of the biggest cliches out there, but oh boy is it true.
I think one of the most important and maybe hardest thing to do is be in love with your life. Life is important if you’re not in love with it, which is something I just recently learned this month.blog love
I was always waiting. Waiting to go back to Baltimore, waiting to go back to Turks and Caicos, waiting to go back to Greenville. But that’s a waste. I’m waiting and waiting and then it happens, and then I’m waiting and waiting again. It’s an endless cycle that never produces pure happiness.
Which is why I learned that “If you love life, it will love you right back.” I can’t tell you the exact moment where I fell head over heels in love with my life, but it happened. And I never want to look back.
Now, everyday is an adventure. I wake up with an excitement for whats to come. It sounds cheesy, I know, but I don’t care.

Leave a Reply

