And so it began…

Before I get this all started, I wanted to take a post to share a little bit about myself and what this blog is all about.

First of all, my favorite artist Kenny Chesney once said “Somewhere in my family tree, there must of been someone who was a beach bum at heart”.  I don’t know whether to thank my mother and father for putting the love of the ocean into my life or someone before them, but either way I am thankful for their fascination for the salty sea. I’ve loved the ocean for as long as I can remember (well, I was also scared of it, but I enjoyed the lifestyle), and it dates back to my days spent rocking side to side on the bow of a boat named Changes in Latitudes Changes in Attitudes.

turksblog3

Me and my older brother Taylor on Changes in Latitudes Changes in Attitudes

My love for the water only deepened from there. Whether it be the chilly, wavy beaches of the Outer Banks, North Carolina or the calm clear water that filled Springdale pool back in my hometown of Cockeysville, Maryland. As my love for the salt, sun, and the sand grew, it did for my parents as well. Years went by filled with family vacations that were spent slathering on sunscreen, tying bathing suit strings, and applying aloe to fried skin (i love the sun but it hates me sometimes). It wasn’t long until my parents, later to be known as Kate and Tom, decided to pack up their things and go on their own anniversary vacation to islands all over the Caribbean. Name an island, and they’ve been there. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating, but my jealousy at the time made it seem like this was an extremely irrational decision made my  totally irresponsible parents. Who leaves their 10 year old daughter and 13 year old son at home while they go relax on an island sipping on a frozen margarita?  Yeah, I didn’t get it either.

Long story short, after experiencing many different islands, my father stumbled across this unknown island called Turks and Caicos via Trip Advisor. He had told me about the island and that him and Kate were planning on going, but it didn’t mean much to me. “Oh, just another island that they’re going to spend a week on, come back really tan, and never go back to, let alone bring me with them,” I thought. But, the unthinkable happened. They went back the next year. And the next year. And before I knew it, I was told that I should start packing for my first trip to Turks and Caicos.

turksblog2

Me, Tom, Kate at Caicos Cafe on my first trip to the island.

And that right there is the purpose for this blog. Somewhere in between my parents’  island hopping and online research, they had found a home away from home. While they didn’t know it at the time, this 13 mile strip of beach would turn into a place that would somehow feel more comfortable than my home in Cockeysville. It turned into a place that when I stepped onto the resort I was greeted with open arms and “Welcome home!!”

As I venture back to the island this summer, I hope I can share my experiences in a way that people can learn about what all the wonderful things this island has to offer.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “And so it began…

  1. uncle dan says:

    Great start Kensie. I look forward to following you. You should come out here. No worries about sunburn.

Leave a Reply

